Pwani Guest House

from $49

per night

Response rate

97%

Response time

within a few days

Reviews

10

Shella Pwani Guest House is located just behind Peponi hotel. It is a lovely Swahili guest house with carved plasterwork, an amazing location and excellent staff.

The Guest House is located only 50 meters from the seafront and a few meters behind Peponi Hotel in Shela Village.

There are two second floor double rooms, 1 second floor balcony room, 1 penthouse room and 1 family penthouse suite making a total of 5 rooms.

There is a kitchen on the ground floor which can be used to cook meals. Mwinyi the house manager and chef who has been working at Pwani for 20+ years is an attentive and friendly host.

Breakfast is prepared for you every morning and you can organize with the chef for lunches and dinner meals which are prepared for you free of charge (just pay for the ingredients).

There is a small dining room downstairs, where it is possible to organize meals that include amazing fresh seafood and swahili dishes. The rooftop terrace has excellent views and a perfect sea breeze.

Airport transfers are not included but can be arranged for you at an extra cost payable on arrival to your the guest house manager or your boat captain (cost is usually between KES 1,000 - 1,500 depending on the season).

Features

Around the place
  • Airport shuttle costs extra
  • Family friendly
  • Laundry service costs extra
  • Room service
  • Towel and linen service
  • Breakfast
  • Cook
  • Outdoor dining area
  • Kitchen
  • Refrigerator
  • Boat captain costs extra
  • Gardener
  • Housekeeper
  • Security guard
  • Tour guide costs extra
  • Hot water
  • Internet
  • Mobile internet reception
  • Mobile phone reception
  • Sail boat costs extra

Reviews

Accuracy Value Cleanliness Location Service Check-in
Superb!
10 reviews
4.7 10
Erin Kenya
It was amazing. We loved it. Mwinyi and his team were great.
Stayed with host at Ensuite Oceanview Balcony Room as a family in December 2014
Palmira Italy
Amazing location and structure, incredible potential...terrible management...lazy guy.
Stayed with host at Top Floor Penthouse Room as a solo traveller in December 2014
Becky Kenya
It was great.
Stayed with host at Oceanview Penthouse Family Suite as a small group in November 2014
David USA
It was totally fine thank you. The manager was very friendly and very accommodating. I had a really lovely stay.
Stayed with host at Double Room near Shela Waterfront as a solo traveller in August 2014
Yongkyu China
It was great. It was very convenient. They were prepared for our arrival. It was very reasonable.
Stayed with host at Oceanview Penthouse Family Suite as a small group in April 2014
Response from Mwinyi — Thanks for visiting Mwinyi and the team. Glad you had a great time. We hope you come back to Lamu soon!
 
Michelle USA
It was wonderful. Everyone had a great time.
Stayed with host at Double Room near Shela Waterfront as a couple in December 2013
Response from Mwinyi — Thanks Michelle. So glad you had a wonderful time.
 
Michael Germany
Best place in Shela. Very friendly staff. Located beyond the Peponi, you have a perfect view on the channel between Lamu and Manda Island from the roof top chill out area. Very friendly and helpful staff whose hobby is cooking, so you can get very very good dinner served on the roof top. IMHO best choice in Shela Village
Stayed with host at Top Floor Penthouse Room as a solo traveller in August 2013
Anders Norway
Mwinyi, Hassan and Samuel are the perfect hosts.
Stayed with host at Double Room near Shela Waterfront as a solo traveller in February 2013
Janelle USA
I had a wonderful time in Lamu at Pwani guest house! Mwinyi was an excellent host who took great care of me, arranging a very lovely and informative guide named Abdul to tour Lamu town including the UNESCO area as well as the Fort, museum, markets and several craftsman. I also found the dhow sunset cruise with Captain Sultan very beautiful and tranquil, and the beach at Shela was gorgeous. Mwinyi provided some delicious meals as well, and even called ahead to porters to meet me at the pier at the airport as I left. It was a relaxing and lovely 3 days and I will highly recommend Lamu and specifically Pwani to my colleagues in Nairobi and Minnesota and to friends in the area! Thank you for your help in making the arrangements!
Stayed with host at Top Floor Penthouse Room as a solo traveller in August 2012
Sherwood Kenya
We enjoyed this quaint guest house about as close to the beach as you can get. The rooms are all self-contained and spacious, and the manager and other workers are friendly. The manager is also a chef, and he cooks the best, fresh seafood we have found on the island. We recommend this guest house to anyone who enjoys the "finer things" without paying high prices.
Stayed with host at Top Floor Penthouse Room as a couple in June 2012

from $49

per night

Response rate

97%

Response time

within a few days

Reviews

10


SleepOut.com Guarantees

  • Host verified by phone
  • Transparency – no hidden fees
  • Quality assured accommodation
  • Secure payment over SSL

Location