Shwari Naivasha

from $252

per night

Response rate

93%

Response time

within a day

Reviews

23

Pinned 16 times
Family Wildlife Scenic
  • Pay later available
  • Best price guaranteed

Shwari homes are situated in the Great Rift Valley between Mt. Longonot and Lake Naivasha. There are 4 houses in a 3 acre compound surrounded by 800 acres of ranch land. The homes also border one of the largest ranches in Kenya called Kedong Ranch. This gives the area a great, open and peaceful feel.

There are 4 houses, each consisting of 3 bedrooms and 2 bathrooms. The master bed room has a king-size bed; first guest room has a queen size bed and the second guest room has twin beds. The master room has an en-suite bathroom, while the other 2 rooms share a common bathroom. The kitchen is open plan leading to the large living room with fireplace. The dining table seats 6 people. All houses have spectacular views of the lake as well as Mt. Longonot. Water is pressurized and each house has a 300L solar hot water tank.

There is a swimming pool located between all the houses. Made out of local materials and finished with mazeras stone, it blends into the landscape. From the pool you get views of the lake and the mountain. Perfect for sundowners

There are lots of activities to do in the area, here is a list of must do’s:

- Climb Mt. Longonot (1/2 day trip)

- Boat ride on Lake Naivasha

- Horse riding – available at Sanctuary Farm

- Bike riding at Hells Gate National Park

- Gorge walk at Hells Gate National Park

- Swim in the natural SPA at Hells Gate National Park

- Pizza lunch at Camp Carnelly’s

- Sit on your veranda at Shwari and the wildlife around you

Shwari employs 5 full time staff who take care of the property including 2 night guards who patrol the area. There is also an electric fence which is turned on at night.

Things to take with you:

- Food for your stay. Houses have fully equipped kitchens with all the common appliances.

- Firewood, the nights do get cold and we do not encourage cutting of trees within the ranch.

- Drinking water. We have running water but it may not be suitable drinking.

- Charcoal. This maybe required if you need to use the BBQ or Jiko (that we can provide).

- Extra blankets. It can get quite cold at night. If you do get cold, it maybe wise to carry some extra blankets.

- Towels. Please bring your own towels for bath and pool use. We do not have a laundry facility so we do not provide towels yet.

- Binoculars. There are over 500 species of birds and many animals. You may want to have these with you at all times.

- Sun Block. The days can get extremely hot so please cover up.

- Good walking/hiking shoes.

Game:

There is lots of game on the ranch. Recent sightings of eland, grants gazelle, dik dik, buffalo, hyena and leopard have been made. You will need to exercise caution when walking around the ranch.

Amenities

There are a few places along Moi South Lake Rd to get the basics, however everything else is available in Naivsaha town including 2 large supermarkets. Here some options if you get stuck:

- Fresh vegetables at Elementaita Weavers near Karaigita Village

- Better fresh vegetables at Oserian Shop

- Milk, bread and other basics are available at Karaigita Village in the local kiosks

- Hotels close by are Sawela Lodge, Enashipai, Naivasha Sopa and Naivasha Simba

- Restaurants are Carnelly’s, Fishermans and Enashipai Café

Caution

- Shwari is situated out in the wild. The owners and management do not take any responsibility or liability during your stay and use of the premises and surrounding area.

Features

In your room
  • Lake view
  • Mountain view
  • Pool view
  • Savanna view
  • Shower
  • Shower over bath
  • En-suite
  • Hot water
  • Kitchen
  • Refrigerator
  • Balcony
  • Veranda
  • Fireplace
Around the place
  • Good access roads
  • Family friendly
  • Cook costs extra
  • Kitchen
  • Refrigerator
  • Gardener
  • Security guard
  • Hot water
  • Parking
  • Mobile internet reception
  • Mobile phone reception
  • Fireplace
  • Pool

Reviews

Accuracy Value Cleanliness Location Service Check-in
Superb!
23 reviews
4.6 23
David Kenya
We had a very nice stay at the cottages. Only thing we'd recommend is a larger mosquito net for the double bed.
Stayed with host as a small group in May 2016
Response from Churchill — noted and being addressed. Thanks you for your feed back and we hope to have you there again.
 
Palvi Kenya
We had a very nice time. Thank you.
Stayed with host as a small group in February 2016
Response from Churchill — many thanks and we look forward to having you at Shwari again.
 
Sonja Kenya
It was great. We thoroughly enjoyed it and especially liked the views of Mt. Longonot from the cottages. We can't complain.
Stayed with host as a small group in February 2016
Response from Churchill — Thanks for your comments and hopefully we get to see you again at Shwari. Please feel free to like us and comment on our facbook page.
 
Eric Kenya
We had a very good stay, only that getting there was a bit of a problem due to lack of proper directions. We also had a bit of a run-in with the security guard who we found annoying and invasive..
Stayed with host as a family in December 2015
Response from Churchill — Your comments have been noted on the security guard and has been addressed. On the issue of directions, it is difficult, however we have always suggested calling if difficult.
 
Noelle Kenya
We had a wonderful stay. We really enjoyed our holiday.. The place was quite clean and the compound was well taken of.. The host provided really good service.. We'll definitely recommend the place to my friends.
Stayed with host as a family in December 2015
Hellen Kenya
The lady who was there was not aware that we were going but she was very welcoming and after showing her the confirmation, we were impressed on how she handled us. Shwari cottages is one place we would love to visit any day, any time. It’s awesome and the staff are always ready to assist. Kudos to team that was present. We had fun and will definitely go back
Stayed with host as a corporate group in November 2015
Beatriz Spain
Very good in general.
Stayed with host as a family in October 2015
Response from Churchill — Many thanks and we look forward to having you there again.
 
William Kenya
We loved the place and enjoyed our stay very much.
Stayed with host as a small group in October 2015
Response from Churchill — Thanks for the comments and we look forward to having you at Shwari again.
 
Agnes Kenya
Shwari was indeed more than what we expected. It is a very nice place in a cool location. The grounds are very beautiful and for sure we had lots of fun. We will most definitely be coming back
Stayed with host as a corporate group in September 2015
Response from Churchill — Thanks for the kind words and we look forward to seeing you there again.
 
John Kenya
I want to thank the staff of Shwari and especially the lady who recovered my wallet left in your houses. I got everything all intact. This was great and I will never forget.
Stayed with host as a corporate group in September 2015
Response from Churchill — We shall convey your message to the staff and we thank you for the kind words.
 
Emily Kenya
The cottages are really good. We had a great time and enjoyed ourselves.
Stayed with host as a small group in April 2015
Vanessa France
It was absolutely perfect. We had a great time at Shwari Cottages.
Stayed with host as a big group in February 2015
Miriam Kenya
This was an excellent place to stay to enjoy all the fun of Naivasha. It was close to both Hell's Gate and the lake, and yet was removed from the town. The house was excellent, with all we needed for cooking and sleeping. The staff assisted with all our questions, and we hired help for washing dishes for a very reasonable cost. The pool was not the cleanest we have seen, but it didn't keep our children out of it! We will definitely be back.
Stayed with host as a family in January 2015
Response from Churchill — Thanks for the feedback, we have now ensured that the pool is worked on more frequently.
 
Janet Kenya
It was very nice. The scenery was really good and the place peaceful. We give it thumbs up.
Stayed with host as a big group in January 2015
Brenda Kenya
Lovely place, loved the views and serenity. Your caretaker though extremely helpful (he got us a great chef) can be cunning and easily put off guests.
Stayed with host as a small group in December 2014
Response from Churchill — We have noted your comments and have addressed this directly with the caretaker. He has apologised.
 
Brenda Kenya
We definitely enjoyed our stay. It was great.
Stayed with host as a big group in December 2014
Response from Churchill — Glad you enjoyed and we look forward to seeing you at Shwari again
 
Mireille France
Nice place.
Stayed with host as a small group in December 2014
Response from Churchill — Many thanks for your feedback and we hope to see you there again.
 
Miriam Kenya
Our stay was great. It was perfect.
Stayed with host as a small group in December 2014
Response from Churchill — We look forward to having you back at Shawri sometime.
 
Chandni Kenya
It was really good except the last day where it rained and the water was really cold. Apart from that everything was fine and the cook we had requested for was great. We loved it
Stayed with host as a big group in October 2014
Response from Churchill — thank you for your feed back. We do not normally provide cooks except for staff to help with cleaning and washing and can help a little with the cooking. I am glad they were good and we have notified them of your appreciation.
 
Michelle Kenya
The house has a view of the lake and Mt. Longonot which is really fantastic. We had a lovely time. No complaints whatsoever.
Stayed with host as a big group in August 2014
Response from Churchill — we look forward to having you back
 
Alison Kenya
It was absolutely wonderful although we had a bit of a problem as we had no mosquito nets in our cabin and there were lots of bugs.
Stayed with host as a big group in August 2014
Response from Churchill — Noted and look forward to having you back at Shwari
 
Lauren USA
Lovely place - quiet, a little out of the way, but very nice, with pretty views. Booking was easy and the host was very responsive - also appreciated that we were able to book a couple of houses (out of 4) to easily accommodate a larger party. Would be nice if daily cleaning were included for the price - though it wasn't much to pay extra.
Stayed with host as a big group in August 2014
Response from Churchill — Thank you for your comments and we look forward to having you back. We are waiting for the road to get done and hopefully that makes the journey shorter.
 
Helen Eritrea
It was good. The way to the house is a little rough but we had a Rav 4 so it was ok. Saloon cars can make it though. Everything at the house is nice and the service was great.
Stayed with host as a family in July 2014
Response from Churchill — thank you and we hope to see you again
 

from $252

per night

Response rate

93%

Response time

within a day

Reviews

23

Pinned 16 times
Family Wildlife Scenic
  • Pay later available
  • Best price guaranteed
Location Shwari Cottages Naivasha – South Lake
Space offered Cottage
Includes Entire place to yourselves
Sleeps 6
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms 2
Beds 1 × Queen bed
1 × King bed
2 × Single bed
Check in 12:00
Check out 10:30
Meal plans Self catering
Accommodation only
Conditions Cancellation
Strictly no pets
Use of houses

SleepOut.com Guarantees

  • Host verified by phone
  • Transparency – no hidden fees
  • Quality assured accommodation
  • Secure payment over SSL

Location